Red Hot Chili Peppers play Intimate Gig at the Apollo in NYC

Red Hot Chili Peppers are in the midst of a massive tour in support of their two new albums released this year, Unlimited love and The return of the dream canteen– their first new music since the 2016s The Getaway. Although they’ve played in big stadiums like Fenway Park in Boston and Soldier Field in Chicago, they got a little more familiar with their fans on Tuesday night (September 13) thanks to a stop at the historic Apollo Theatre in Harlem.

As a part of SiriusXM’s Small Stage Series—a series that has brought other huge acts such as Metallica, Guns ‘n’ Roses and latest, Pearl Jam, to the Apollo—the Chili Peppers played a stacked show to the theater filled with 1,500 fans, most of whom won tickets through SiriusXM. For those not lucky enough to find their way into the venue, the entire concert was broadcast live across North America on the band’s own SiriusXM channel, Whole Lotta Red Hot.

The night started just after eight o’clock with a comedian Chris Rock handling stage announcing duties, something he is comfortable with given to him introduced the band into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012. He was short on time, but he managed to get the crowd fired up with excitement when he declared, “We’re about to see the biggest band in the goddamn world.”

With it, Chad Smith, John Frusciante and Flea hit the stage for an instrumental jam session. After a few minutes, Anthony Kiedis joined his bandmates and they opened their set with “Can’t Stop” from 2002’s Moreover.

There were plenty of other impromptu jams with Smith, Frusciante and Flea between songs throughout the night, and the band weren’t shy about chatting with each other or the audience either. It didn’t take long for Kiedis to thank Rock for the introduction, jokingly noting that he was surprised by how nice the comedian was in person.

The most memorable quip came when Kiedis said the night felt like an episode of The Twilight Zone because his mind couldn’t comprehend that they were actually playing Apollo. Later, Flea agreed with his partner-in-crime when he succinctly told the audience, with obvious awe, reverence and perhaps a little bit of disbelief in his voice, “Duke Ellington played on this fucking stage.”

While they favored Unlimited love on the set list — playing “Here Ever After,” “These Are the Ways,” “The Heavy Wing” and “Black Summer” — the Chili Peppers also treated fans to plenty of hits from their career, including “Give It Away” “Soul to Squeeze” and draws the most enthusiasm from the crowd, Californicationis “Otherside.” You can see the full set list and photos from the show below.

On Sept. 15, the band is back stadium mode as they play Camping World Stadium in Orlando, a venue that holds nearly 44 times the number of people that were inside the Apollo on Tuesday night.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Sept. 13, 2022 at The Apollo Theater in New York, New York

1. “Can’t Stop”
2. “Dani California”
3. “Here Ever After”
4. “Snow (Hey Oh)”
5. “These Are the Ways”
6. “Soul to Squeeze”
7. “Just in Time”
8. “Other Side”
9. “The Heavy Wing”
10. “Black Summer”
11. “Californication”
12. “What is soul?” (Funkadelic cover over)
13. “Give It Away”
14. “By the Way”

Pictures from the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ show at the Apollo Theatre

Photos from the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ intimate concert at The Apollo Theater in New York City.

Pearl Jam Play at the Apollo Theater in New York City – Sept. 10, 2022

Pearl Jam will perform an intimate concert at New York City’s legendary Apollo Theater on Saturday, September. 10, 2022.

Related Posts