The Pretty Reckless announce new ‘Other Worlds’ release, share ‘Got So High’ remix

A year and a half after the release of their fourth album Death by Rock and Roll, The rather ruthless has announced an upcoming new project called other worlds, which will be released later this year.

Unlike a traditional album of all new material, Other Worlds sees The Pretty Reckless playing some covers as well as acoustic versions and remixes of their some of theirs Death by Rock and Roll track. The rockers shared a remixed version of the song “Got So High” today (August 26), which you can check out below.

Among the guests at the release are Matt Cameronwho played guitar with front woman Taylor Momsen on a cover of Soundgarden‘s Royal animal track “Halfway There” David Bowie pianist Mike Garson on an interpretation of The Thin White Duke’s “Quicksand” and multi-instrumentalist Alain Johannes on an acoustic version of Chris Cornell‘The Keeper’.

“For a long time we’ve been trying to figure out an alternative way to release music, including songs we love that didn’t make our records, covers and alternative versions,” Momsen says in a press release.

“We found a way to do this coherently and consistently Other Worlds. We are a rock band, so there are lots of electric guitars on our records. However, we have received incredible feedback from fans about our acoustic performances and we have never released them in any real format. So this is a different take on the traditional format of a record and a stripped-down version of us that our fans haven’t really heard before, but it’s still us.”

“You get to hear a different side of Taylor’s vocals,” added guitarist Ben Phillips. “It was a chance for us to see what she would sound like singing songs by people who have inspired us. It also gave us perspective on where we’re going and what we’re going to be if we want to be that excellent.”

See the album cover and the full tracklist below.

The album will be released in November. 4 via Fearless Records, and may be pre-ordered here now — several variants of the vinyl format will be available. Until then, catch The Pretty Reckless on tour in Canada, the US and then Europe. Get tickets through this link.

The Pretty Reckless – ‘Got So High’ (Remix)

The rather reckless – Other Worlds Album cover + track list

The Pretty Reckless, ‘Other Worlds’

Fearless records

1. “Got So High” (Remix)
2. “High Love”
3. “The Keeper” (feat. Alain Johannes)
4. “Quicksand” (feat. Mike Garson)
5. “25” (acoustic)
6. “Only Love Can Save Me Now” (Acoustic)
7. “Death By Rock and Roll” (Acoustic)
8. “Halfway There” (feat. Matt Cameron)
9. “(What’s So Funny Seizure) Peace, Love and Understanding”
10. “Harley Darling” (Acoustic)
11. “Got So High” (Album Version)

12 rock and metal artists who had other careers before music

The fairytale version of becoming a rock star always starts with the person knowing all his life that he wanted to be a musician. But the reality is that it doesn’t always work that way.

Related Posts