10 cool new pop songs to get you through the week: Red Velvet, Alan Walker, Julia Pratt and more

Looking for a little motivation to get you through the start of another work week? We feel you, and with some great new ones pop tunes, we’ve got you covered.



See the latest videos, charts and news

See the latest videos, charts and news

These 10 tracks from artists including Red Velvet, Alan Walker, Julia Pratt and Bahari will fuel you to take on the week. Put one of these gems into your personal playlists—or scroll to the end of the post for a custom playlist of all 10.

Alan Walker, “Ritual”

Walkerverse Pt. I & II, the just-released collection from British-Norwegian DJ Alan Walker, features plenty of pulsating beats and ecstatic choruses, but “Ritual” is sleek and seductive enough to stand out on the set. Lyrics like “The ritual fires / They light up and guide us / Glowing inside us / Calling everyone, la la la!” may be sleazy EDM tentpole silliness … but you’ll probably fail when you try to resist its throbbing charms. – Jason Lipshutz

Bahari, “Destructive”

Alt-pop duo Natalia Panzarella and Ruby Carr created “Destructive” with veteran hitmakers Rock Mafia, and the new single has a level of polish reminiscent of the producers’ fluttering pop radio hits of the late 2000s. Still, the success of “Destructive” reveals exclusively to Rock Mafia the playful vocal recordings of Bahari’s two members, who enjoy merging their personal flaws into joyous, complementary harmonies. – J. Lipshutz

Virginia to Vegas, “Break Up With That Guy”

Derik Baker, the producer-songwriter who also records under the name Virginia To Vegas, originally wrote “Break Up With That Guy” with Band Camino during a lumberjack session in Nashville, but decided to keep the slick synth-pop track to himself. Good Call: “Break Up With That Guy” makes an impression in no time, with Baker’s voice conveying a coziness even as it hints at the end of a relationship. – J. Lipshutz

AR/CO, “Supersonic LUV”

“Supersonic LUV,” the latest single from promising new dance duo AR/CO, begins with a siren call and then a whistle, as if the track is presenting its seductive hooks one by one. The song solidifies from there: buzzing synths, doubled vocals, a bass drop that’s effective without being too intrusive, and a general sense of giddiness make this a winner that should be on repeat until festival season starts again. – J. Lipshutz

Julia Pratt, “Odyssey”

New Philadelphia-based singer-songwriter Julia Pratt fittingly takes listeners on an exciting ride with her new single, “Odyssey.” Threaded with his robust falsetto, the indie-pop song explores different tempos and production styles within a tight three minutes, a promising indication of all that Pratt is capable of – leaving fans eager for the next journey. – Lyndsey Havens

Billianne, “No Wonder”

“No Wonder” is the kind of rare debut single that immediately establishes a new voice that you can tell. With this piano-led debut single, Ontario’s Billianne introduces fans to her inviting tone, capable of soaring to Adele-esque heights. She said in a statement that the song was inspired by her parents’ love, noting, “With an upbringing like I’ve had, it’s no wonder I’m ready to go.” – LH

Red Velvet, “Birthday”

Red Velvet fans have certainly been in for a treat this year: following the release in March of the K-pop group’s Feel my rhythm EP, the idols are back with “Birthday,” a return worthy of celebration. The upbeat track, which has a hint of surprise due to a sampling of Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue,” sees the girl group using their usual calling cards — upbeat lyrics, poppy synths and a hint of R&B swag to round out their sound. As expected, the song is sugary sweet and contains lyrics that transport listeners to a world filled with confections (“I got a special day/ Let’s start, a new chance/ Sugary, ice cream cake”) and interesting treats. – Starr Bowenbank

Cosmo Pyke, “A Piper for Janet” (Live at the Brodie Sessions)

Cosmo Pyke’s 2021 EP, A Piper for Janet, has been recreated for the live setting. The English singer-songwriter sat down for the Brodie Sessions, an intimate concert series shot on 16mm film from a private home in Copenhagen, and sang the EP’s self-titled track with just an acoustic guitar to accompany him. The jazzy number highlights Pyke’s penchant for romance, inner reflection and unconventional rhymes (“I, caught my reflexion eating breakfast and this delicacy/ And so alone I’ve been stressin’ its pretty depressing. I won’t feel afraid”) in a format that feels much more personal and truer to shape for the artist. – SB

Alberta Cross, “Mercy”

Anglo-Swedish rockers Alberta Cross are set to return with an album in 2023, and the first taste of “Mercy” is an achingly beautiful indication of what’s to come. Between singer/guitarist Petter Ericson Stakee’s wistful upper-register vocals (think Jim James) and soundscapes reminiscent of Mark Knopfler and Ry Cooder, “Mercy” ends up as uplifting as it is melancholic. -Joe Lynch

Kele, “Vandal”

A solo offering from the Bloc Party frontman, “Vandal,” Kele takes no prisoners on this ode to channeling frustration into positive change. “Use that rage in your belly / Let the anger flow from you,” he sings-raps over a jagged yet lithe guitar line and staccato dance beats. To drive his point home, the single art shows him burning a copy of the Smiths’ The queen is deadpresumably referring to Morrissey’s anti-immigration views. – J. Lynch

Related Posts