Janet Yang is the fourth woman elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

Producer Janet Yang was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s board of directors. Her selection was announced on Tuesday (August 2).

Yang is the fourth woman and second person of color to serve in this position. The first woman to serve as president was a screen legend Bette Davis, although she served for just two months in 1941 before resigning. It is the other women who will serve as president Fay Rabbit (1979-83) and Cheryl Boone Isaacs (2013-17), who is also the only former person of color to serve in the post.

Yang begins her second term as Governor-General, a position to which she was nominated by her predecessor as Academy President, David Rubinand elected by the board.

A member of the manufacturing department since 2002, Yang began his career in China in distribution. Her film and television production credits include The Joy Luck Club, The People Vs. Larry Flynt, Shanghai Calling, High Crimes, Dark Matter, Zero Effect, and Over the Moon. The latter received a 2020 Academy Award nomination for Best Animated Feature (although Yang was not among the nominees). Yang won an Emmy in 1995 for the HBO film, Indictment: The McMartin Trial, which was voted Outstanding Made for TV Movie. She shared the award with Abby Mann, Diana Pokorny and Oliver Stone.

Yang most recently served on the board as vice president and chairman of the membership committee and before that the membership and management committee. She is also co-chair of the Academy’s Asian Affinity Group.

“Janet is a tremendously dedicated and strategic leader who has an incredible record of service to the Academy,” Academy CEO Bill Kramer said in a statement. “She has been instrumental in launching and advancing numerous Academy initiatives on membership recruitment, governance and equity, diversity and inclusion. I am thrilled that she is taking on the esteemed role of Academy President and look forward to working closely with her about our shared vision to serve our membership, celebrate the collaborative arts and sciences of filmmaking, and inspire the next generation of filmmakers.”

These officers were also elected:

  • Terri E. Dormandeputy chairman (chairman, membership committee)
  • Donna Gigliottideputy chairman/secretary (chairman, management committee)
  • Lynette Howell Taylordeputy chairman (chairman, prize committee)
  • Larry Karaszewskideputy chairman (chairman, history and preservation committee)
  • David Lindevice-chairman/treasurer (chairman, finance committee)
  • Isis Mussendendeputy chairman (chairman, museum committee)
  • Kim Taylor-Colemandeputy chairman (chairman, equity and inclusion committee)
  • Wynn P. Thomasdeputy chairman (chairman, education and outreach committee)

Gigliotti, Karaszewski, Linde, Mussenden and Thomas were re-elected as officers. It will be the first officer deployment for Dorman, Howell Taylor and Taylor-Coleman.

Here is a full list of the academy’s board for 2022-23:

Actor Department: Whoopi Goldberg, Marlee Matlin, Rita Wilson
Casting Director’s Department: Richard Hicks, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Debra Zane
Cinematographers Branch: Dion Beebe, Paul Cameron, Mandy Walker
Costume Designers Branch: Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Isis Mussenden
Director department: Susanne Bier, Ava DuVernay, Jason Reitman
Documentary branch: Kate Amend, Chris Hegedus, Jean Tsien
Executive’s department: Pam Abdy, Donna Gigliotti, David Linde
The film editor’s department: Nancy Richardson, Stephen Rivkin, Terilyn A. Shropshire
Department for make-up artists and hairdressers: Howard Berger, Bill Corso, Linda Flowers
Marketing and PR department: Megan Colligan, Laura C. Kim, Christina Kounelias
Music department: Lesley Barber, Charles Bernstein, Charles Fox
Producer’s Department: Jason Blum, Lynette Howell Taylor, Jennifer Todd
Production design branch: Tom Duffield, Missy Parker, Wynn P. Thomas
Short film and feature film branch: Bonnie Arnold, Jon Bloom, Marlon West
Audio branch: Gary C. Bourgeois, Peter Devlin, Teri E. Dorman
Visual effects branch: Rob Bredow, Brooke Breton, Paul Debevec
Writers Branch: Larry Karaszewski, Howard A. Rodman, Eric Roth
Governor-at-Large: DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Janet Yang

Related Posts