10 Facts You Might Not Have Known About Motley Crue’s ‘Dr. feel good’

It’s not common for a band’s fifth album to be their best work, but this was the case Motley Crue. By the end of the 80s, the Crue had already been living as rock stars for almost eight years and touring the world. But they hadn’t given us their best yet.

The bad boys from Los Angeles had their fair share of both success and tragedy between their first release, the 1981 Too fast for love, and the 1989s Dr. Feel good. Vince Neil was involved in a fatal car accident that claimed the life of Hanoi Rock’s drummer, Razzle. The 1985s Theater of pain was severely criticized by the press, and Nikki Sixx died but was eventually revived in 1987.

Dr. Feel good was released on Sept. 1, 1989 and is considered by most to be the band’s strongest album to date. While the self-titled track and “Kickstart My Heart” dealt with the band’s struggles with addiction and Sixx’s fear of death, tracks like “Rattlesnake Shake,” “Same Ol’ Situation (SOS)” and “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away) ” also became instant fan favorites.

It’s been 31 years since the iconic album was released and ended the decade with a bang. The band had a short period with John Corabi on vocals and Tommy Lee also abandoned for a period of time. But they eventually got the core four back together, embarked on a final world tour after signing a deal to stop touring in 2015 and released the biopic The Dirt earlier this year. They may no longer be an active touring band, but the legacy of Dr. Feel good will never fade.

Here are 10 facts you might not know about the album.

1. It was their first album recorded sober.

Between the aftermath of Neil’s crash and Sixx’s death throes, reality finally started to set in for Motley Crue – if they didn’t get their shit together, their careers would be over and they could end up dead (permanently). So the band cleaned up before entering the studio and really channeled their energy into the music, which is clearly audible.

2. The original “Dr. Feelgood.”

The nickname “Dr. Feelgood” was originally given to Dr. Max Jacobson of the Secret Service during the presidency of John F. Kennedy. Jacobson was known to administer amphetamines to prominent clients such as the Kennedy’s, Marilyn Monroe, Elvis Presley and more, via injection.

He eventually lost his driver’s license…thank goodness.

3. It inspired Metallica.

Producer Bob Rock worked with Motley Crue on the album, and Tommy Lee star drum sound inspired Metallica’s Lars Ulrich to hire him to produce The Black Album.

4. It refers to their past.

In the song “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” there is a line that says “I knew it all along / I’d have to write this song / Too young to fall in love / Guess we knew it all along,” which is a reference to their early hit “Too Young to Fall in Love.”

5. The title number was originally very different.

Sixx, who wrote virtually all of Motley Crue’s music, had a completely different set of lyrics for the song “Dr. Feelgood.” He told Rolling stones around the album’s 20th anniversary, “It had a completely different theme to it. It was called ‘Dr. Feelgood,’ but a completely different thing lyrically. In the end, it was inspired by drug dealers.”

6. It got a shoe.

In 2008, Nike released a commemorative “Dunk High” sneaker that was colored to match the theme of the album cover – various shades of green, snake print and red.



7. It has all-star guest appearances.

Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler sang backing vocals on the track “Sticky Sweet” and Cheap tricks Robin Zander guest vocals on “She Goes Down”.

8. It did well on the charts.

It peaked at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, spending a total of 109 weeks on the chart. It also won Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album of the Year at the 1991 American Music Awards.

9. Vince Neil on guitar.

Neil played guitar on some songs on the album, including “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” and “Same Ol’ Situation (SOS),” and also played live.

10. It gives a nod to The Beatles.

The melody at the end of “Slice of Your Pie” is based on The Beatles’ track, “I Want You (She’s So Heavy).”

Motley Crue Albums Ranked

Related Posts