Black Keys deliver a hit-packed set for VetsAid 2022

That The black keys brought more than their fair share of star power to Joe Walsh‘s VetsAid benefit concert at Columbus’ Nationwide Arena on Sunday night.

Akron-born co-founders Dan Auerbach and Pat Carney led the band’s extended five-piece touring lineup through their most beloved hits during the 10-song set, which included three selections from their 2011 album El Camino.

You can see the full setlist below.

This is not the first time that the Black Keys have teamed up with Walsh. Back in 2016, Auerbach played one surprise show with the legendary rocker and Glenn Schwartz playing guitar in it James Gang before Walsh joined the band. “He does crazy stuff — his personality comes through in his guitar playing. No fences. Totally uninhibited,” Auerbach said of Schwartz in 2004. “I love the fact that he’s ours — Ohio’s — and nobody else’s.”

Schwartz died in 2018. “Glenn was my biggest rock ‘n’ roll inspiration,” Auerbach said Cleveland Magazine back then. “I saw him on Hooples when I was 18 and things were never the same for me. There would be no Black Keys without Glenn Schwartz, that’s for sure. I really miss him.”

Although Walsh was born in Wichita, Kansas, he considers Columbus his hometown, where he spent part of his childhood. “It all started in Ohio,” he said in an earlier statement. “Picking up my first guitar as a kid in Columbus set me on a musical journey to Kent State, Cleveland and then the world.”

For this year’s VetsAid, Walsh chose an entire Ohio bill. “I believe in Ohio and look forward to celebrating our musical heritage while honoring our veterans with VetsAid 2022,” Walsh said before the event.

Proceeds from VetsAid 2022 will specifically benefit Ohio veterans and their families. A live stream of the entire concert can be purchased at Veeps website for $19.99, and can be viewed for 48 hours after the event begins.

Black Keys 11/13/22 VetsAid Set List
1. “Howlin’ For You” (From Brothers2010)
2. “Fever” (Fr Turn blue2014)
3. “Tighten up” (From Brothers2010)
4. “Your Touch” (From Magic Touch2006)
5. “Gold on the ceiling” (Fr El Camino2011)
6. “Lo/Hello” (From Let’s rock2019)
7. “Next Girl” (From Brothers2010)
8. “Wild child” (Fr Dropout Boogie2022)
9. “Little Black Submarines” (Fr El Camino2011)
10. “Lonely Boy” (From El Camino2011)

Black Keys Albums Ranked

From lo-fi 8-track recordings to multiplatinum hits, a roundup of every studio LP by the blues-rock duo.

Related Posts