SNL hires four new cast members: Marcello Hernandez, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow and Devon Walker

Saturday Night Live has been through a major cast in the offseason. A total of seven cast members left after season 47, marking a significant departure that opened up several spots. Now comes word that four new actors will join SNL.

That new cast members announced so far SNL season 48 is Marcello Hernandez, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow and Devon Walker.

All four new SNL actors have built their reputations. Marcello Hernandez was selected as Just For Laughs New Face this year; Molly Kearney has appeared on Amazon Prime’s A League of Their Own; Michael Longfellow appeared on the Netflix Is a Joke Fest and Devon Walker wrote for the animated series Big mouth.

While four is certainly a strong start to fill the vacancies, Saturday Night Live creator and producer Lorne Michaels has dubbed this one “transition year” to the show, of which SNL has certainly had its share. One of the most infamous was the ’85-’86 season, when Michaels returned after a hiatus. It has been reported that Lorne Michaels will likely retire after season 50, hopefully once the “transition” has settled and become comfortable for fans.

The biggest names there back after season 47 of Saturday Night Live includes Pete Davidson, Kate McKinnon and Kyle Mooney. This mass exodus of seven marked the highest number of departing cast members since 1995.

Saturday Night Live picked up its sixth in a row Emmy for Outstanding Variety Sketch Series at the 74th Primetime Emmy Awards.

Season 48 of Saturday Night Live will premiere on October 1st. The host and musical guest have not yet been announced.

How do you feel about this casting? Do you feel SNL can recover quickly from losing so many key players? Let us know in the comments below!

Related Posts